Meatless Monday: Vegan Lemon Cookies

While I do not traditionally put meat in my cookies (and really do not want to imagine a recipe that calls for it), I am very excited to share my first vegan dessert experiment.  

One of the culinary explorations I’ve enjoyed most this last year is finding healthier ways to make your favorite treats.  Maddie was my first introduction to this type of baking, the fact that her Zucchini Bread was the best I had ever had, and it had no butter or oil in it, amazed me.

After extensive research, the egg substitute I was most excited by was ground flax seed and water.  Given the many health benefits of flax seed, it seemed too good to be true that it would also create the desired texture of eggs.  My doubts were whisked away as I watched the coconut oil, sugar, and egg substitute mixture thicken.  In addition, flax seeds add a little of their own flavor, it almost tasted like I had added a pinch of nutmeg, what could be better?

divider

Vegan Lemon Cookies

  • 1.5 tps of baking soda
  • 1 cup white flour, 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 3/4 cup of Coconut Oil, just melted
  • 3/4 cup Cane Sugar
  • 3 tbs lemon juice
  • lemon zest from 1.5 lemons
  • 2 tablespoon ground flaxseeds
  • 6 tablespoons water (or other liquid)

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Mix the baking soda, flours, and salt in a medium bowl and set aside.  Combine the coconut oil, and sugar, beat fully until dissolved.  Add lemon juice and zest.  Then mix flax seeds with water and add the mixture into the other ingredients. Beat together until mixture begins to thicken. Add dry mixture into wet mixture a little at a time, until fully combined.

Place small spoonfuls of dough on an ungreased baking sheet and bake until just golden on top, approximately 10 minutes depending on oven.

divider

Given that I had never made vegan cookies before, and was taking a risk doing them without a recipe, I decided to just cook a few first batch, to double check the texture.  I ended up placing the cookie dough in the fridge for 15 minutes to cool it off and temporarily thicken it up a bit.  The final texture was perfect, lightly chewy but still moist.  When I make these again, I will make sure that the dough stays relatively cool.

The lemon flavor together with the flax seed was an unbeatable combination and they were the perfect balance between sweet but not too sweet.

All in all, my first vegan baking experiment was entirely successful (she says modestly), and I am excited to expand into trying out cakes, and other delectable favorites. Until next week, Happy Meatless Monday!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Shauna

     /  September 9, 2013

    I hate to give a less than satisfactory review, but these had a very strong bitter aftertaste that was hard to look past. The texture was good and I think with a bit of tweaking these could be great. I even reduced the amount of zest I used but the bitterness was very strong. Perhaps lessen the amount of lemon and add more sugar?

    Reply
    • Gabrielle Goozee-Nichols

       /  September 9, 2013

      Hi Shauna,
      I’m so sorry to hear the recipe didn’t work out! I did not have that experience when I made it, but if you are having that issue, absolutely, I would recommend adding more sugar and perhaps cutting back on the lemon. Also, I do have quite the sour tooth, I love my citrus. If Meyer lemons are available to you, they are much sweeter than traditional lemons and may also help combat the bitter after-taste you experienced. Hope this helps!

      Reply
    • Gabrielle Goozee-Nichols

       /  September 9, 2013

      One last note, I appear to have made an error with the amount of baking soda reported, tablespoons was written instead of teaspoons (Thank you Maddie for seeing that!). I apologize for the mistake on my part, but thank you for your comment so that I could change it! It has been updated now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

