Apple Stuffing Recipe – My Mini Canadian Thanksgiving

It’s Canadian Thanksgiving, and I’m half Canadian, so I think it’s only appropriate I have half a Thanksgiving dinner.  The important half… No, not turkey.  Stuffing.

Now, I realize that stuffing is an intensely personal food item.  Everyone has their favorite kind, usually whatever their mama or grandma made.  Well, you’re all wrong.  This is the best stuffing recipe in existence.  (And yes, it’s the kind my mum made.)  When I was tiny, I remember her putting it inside the bird, but my sister became a vegetarian when I was still pretty young, at which point Mum started baking it in a casserole dish.  That’s the way I learned to make it, which I guess technically makes it dressing and no longer stuffing, but technicalities be damned: it’s delicious.

The original recipe called for country (white) bread, which I still do when cooking for company, but I use whole-wheat when it’s just me and B.  I like the nutty taste, and any time you substitute whole grain you’re getting better nutritional bang for your buck, as well as a more filling dish, reducing portion size significantly.

divider

Simple Apple Stuffing Recipe

Apple Stuffing

My homemade apple stuffing

  • 8 thick bread slices, slightly stale or toasted
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 4 apples, peeled,cored, and chopped
  • 3 celery sticks, finely chopped
  • 12 prunes, pitted and chopped
  • 3 oz  fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp fresh sage, finely chopped
  • 1 stick butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • pinch of ground mace
  • pinch of ground nutmeg
  • pinch of ground cloves

Preheat your oven to 350°F and spray the inside of a 2-quart casserole dish with non-stick spray.  While the oven is preheating, get chopping.  The bread needs to be dry to better absorb all the moisture and flavor from the other ingredients, so I usually let my bread sit out at least overnight to get it slightly stale, but if you just bought the loaf, you need to cut slices and toast them (in the preheating oven).  Then cube them up and add them to a big bowl with your chopped onion, apples, celery, prunes, sage and parsley.

In order to evenly distribute the seasonings, add them all to the melted butter and stir.  Then pour this over the chopped goodies and toss to combine.  Transfer to your baking dish and cover with foil.  Bake for 45 minutes, then let sit for 10-15 before serving.

divider

Now, you may think a big 2-quart casserole is too big for myself and my other half, especially considering the whole wheat factor.  Not so.  Stuffing is one of those dishes that keeps getting better, the longer the flavors have to develop.  So go ahead.  Make enough for leftovers.  If you don’t, you’ll be kicking yourself, and I’ll be laughing all the way to the table.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. barb fraser

     /  October 11, 2011

    Hello Maddie Mae
    Interesting site and sounds like some new ideas for an old cook like me
    Will try your dressing recipe next time my son David (he is vegan) comes for
    a visit
    Your Great Aunt
    Barbara Fraser

    Reply
    • Aunt Barbara! Thanks for dropping by. I really love this dressing recipe, but it is vegetarian, not vegan. Vegans do not eat dairy products, so butter is out, and so is bread (unless made without dairy). I’d double-check with David about whether he eats dairy so you can plan ahead!

      Reply
  2. barb fraser

     /  October 12, 2011

    Oh yes I know that vegans do not eat dairy, but I figure if I bake bread I could substitute the butter in this recipe
    Thanks

    Reply
    • Ah, I misunderstood. Yes, I’d just use some vegetable stock and maybe a touch of olive oil instead of the butter. I hope it works out well!

      Reply
  3. isabella McGuire Mayes

     /  December 21, 2011

    can i make this in advance ? if so , when it comes to serving , how long do i reheat it for and at what temperature ?? thanks , its my first time making this and i am so excited , i want it to be perfect , would be grateful fpr advice , oh and can you freeze this `? thanks

    Reply
    • Hi Isabella!

      You can absolutely make this ahead of time… in fact, it will probably taste even better, as all the flavors have more time to come together. If you’re keeping it in the fridge, I would reheat for 20-30 minutes at 350 degrees. You could also freeze it, but I would let it defrost on the counter before reheating.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • The Authors

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Popular Posts

  • Posts by Category

  • Foodie Archive

