Cheese of the Week: Humbolt Fog

For a month or two now, my fiance Shay, has been asking me to do Humbolt Fog as the ‘Cheese of the Week’ but I  was having way too much fun discovering new cheeses on my own, plus visiting some old favorites. Finally, this week when we were grocery shopping, he picked up a piece and placed it in our cart insisting that I try it.

Humboldt Fog

Humboldt Fog

Maddie came over for dinner this week and I had decided to save the cheese tasting for this occasion so she could see what all the fuss was about too.  I wish Shay could have been there to see the looks on our faces when we first tried the cheese.  Clearly, I should have listened to Shay weeks ago when he first suggested I try this fantastic, unique cheese.

Humbolt Fog is a ripened goat’s milk cheese with a soft rind and a layer of vegetable ash in the middle and around the exterior of the cheese.  Depending on the ripeness of the cheese, its outermost layer just under the rind is very creamy, and carries the strongest flavor of the cheese. Similar to most goat cheese, the longer it ripens, the stronger the flavors get.  Humbolt Fog comes from Cypress Grove, the makers of another favorite Cheese of the Week: Truffle Tremor.  Cypress Grove is a California company that started when a woman named Mary Keehn wanted to raise goats to produce healthy milk for her children, and ended up needing to find a use for the surplus milk.  Hard as it is for us to believe today (I personally can’t imagine), just 25 years ago most chevre was only available in Europe.

Humboldt Fog Cheese

Humboldt Fog Cheese

Like its sister cheese, Truffle Tremor, Humbolt Fog has an earthy quality to it, and while it’s stronger in the creamy layer next to the rind, it is not overwhelming.  Maddie and I enjoyed it with some garlic crackers, but it would be perfect with some tart fruit(like raspberries), perhaps in a salad, or just on a cheese plate. It’s almost too good to be mixed in with something else.

So let this be a public apology: Shay, I should have listened sooner.  Apparently, I am not the only cheesepert in the family.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Amanda Harne

     /  February 6, 2012

    I LOVE Humbolt Fog! Try it melted over some grilled steaks yum! Yum!

    Reply
  2. Richard

     /  February 6, 2012

    One of my all time favorites, next time try it with just a dab of honey. You will not regret it, promise!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

